Maryland Accident Insurance Coverage Minimums

January 3, 2011 by  
Filed under Blog

The new minimum required Maryland insurance coverage for automobile accidents went into effect on January 1, raising the required minimum amount of automobile insurance coverage from 20/40 to 30/60.

Maryland Auto Accident Insurance Law

Every motor vehicle registered in Maryland is now required to carry a minimum of $30,000 coverage for each claimant and a $60,000 combined total for any one accident or incident. This not only protects motorists in the event that they cause an accident that result in a personal injury or wrongful death to another person, but also ensures that individuals injured in Maryland motor vehicles have additional coverage through uninsured motorist coverage in the event the accident was caused by a vehicle that does not have insurance.

The legislation was approved in March 2010, rising the minimum Maryland auto insurance requirements for the first time since 1972, despite dramatic increases in the average costs of medical care for personal injuries from Maryland accidents over the past thirty years.

While $30,000 of insurance coverage will still be insufficient compensation for a large number of Maryland accident injuries, raising the floor from 20/40 to 30/60 is a step in the right direction. In addition, motorists can (and should) purchase higher insurance for Maryland cars to protect themselves, their riders and household family members in the event they are involved in an accident with a vehicle that only has minimal limits.

To review a potential case with our Maryland accident attorneys
Call 1(800) 522-0102 Toll Free 24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week
or Complete an On-Line Consultation Request

Comments

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!